Honda Crosstour Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys just got a 2012 CT 2.4L and definitely want to add any more ponies!!! But looking around they only make them for the V6 engines. Any one know if the 2.4L will be able to take the 2012 accord 2.4L CAI? I'm a noob when it comes to mods and cars. HELP PLEASE :)

·
Super Moderator
805 Posts
There really are not any extra ponies in your 2.4L without sacrificing something else. A CAI is not going to give you more HP or Torque. It will flow the same amount of air as your stock air filter, and your stock air filter will actually do it better. The CAI is not a magical device that acts like a supercharger or turbocharger. The CAI will look pretty under your hood and will also give you a more Vroom sound, but it won’t add HP or Torque unless you are comparing this to a stock clogged air filter. With a 2012 CT 2.4L, without tampering with anything that could void your warranty, there really is not much you can do to increase performance.

Actually, from recent reports I have read, a CAI can actually cost you HP and Torque. Many of the CAI installations have the hot radiator air and/or engine heat being picked up by the CAI. Also this radiator and engine heat can heat up the metal CAI tube up to temperatures over 250 degrees F. This quickly changes the CAI into a HAI (Hot Air Intake) which is not good and can cause you to lose HP and Torque.

The bottom line, which you probably don’t want to hear is that you purchased a fuel efficient vehicle and to now try and transform that into a high performance beast is just not feasible without major alterations and costs.

·
Super Moderator
805 Posts
awwwwwwww :( ... thanks though
Don’t be too sad. Every time you pass a gas station with your fuel efficient 2.4L engine you can laugh at all the high performance Mustangs and Camaros filling up their ponies.......

·
Registered
92 Posts