Honda Crosstour Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had my CT EX-L no Nav for about a month now. Love it. A little disappointed in the gas mileage compared to my 2004 Accord though. I purchased the CT instead of another Accord basically because of the ridiculous winters we've been having in Chicago lately. My only complaint with my Accords (and I have owned many) was their handling on snowy and slippery roads. My wife has been driving Subaru Outbacks for the last 10 years and her Outback is amazing in the snow. Does anyone have any experience with their AWD Crosstours in snowy and slippery conditions. Does the AWD perform as well as it is touted? Looking forward to your responses.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I have no experience with AWD CT or AWD anything. But I lived thru the blizzard of '78 and '84 (?)in Chicago with FWD SAABs. And 25" snows in Indiana. First, it's crazy to drive when there is a foot or more. Yes, SUVs have th eclearnace for that and the CT has more than your average car.
But I passed all kinds of 4D and AWD SUVs and PUs that were in the mdeian crashed while I went safely by.

Snow tires on all four wheels is the answer. If you get wheels and snows when the car is new the tires are basically free ( you aren't using the summer ones when using the snows) and all you pay for is wheels. Or you can mount and dismount and balance twice a year but that is actually more expensive than just getting an extra set of wheels.

Consider "minus 1" size or even "minus 2". Places like Tire Rack or Discount Tire can help. Narrower tires are better in snow, they concentrate the traction in smaller patch and also "plow" less snow in front of them, especially when turning. And modern high quality snows stay flexible at low temps and also actually can grip ice like studes with the compounds they put in the rubber.