Honda Crosstour Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Keep hearing different things about this motor.. whats the lowdown on its durability and dependability

I have seen many with very high miles

Your experience is welcomed
Thanks!
Peter

·
Registered
21 Posts
Guess it’s all about who u ask & by all means I’m no expert or seasoned mechanic but from my research all I know is that the VCM technology is garbage I own a 2010 ex-l awd ( hope that doesn’t offend anyone). But the bottom line is that the MPG savings affiliated with the VCM theory by all means is not worth the potential outlier damage & cost associated with its so called gains. PRO: VCM in a nutshell shuts down offset cylinders during ECO phases of exceleration or deceleration to save fuel. CON: The benefits do not outweigh potential damage associated such as ( motor mount failure/ piston ring failure/ plug-coil failure due to bypass of excess oil into the combustion chamber). Not sure if I’m missing anything but I welcome any positive criticism if I’m misinforming.... With this noted not all is lost, as I would highly advise installing a VCM Tunner 2 which can Be purchased for a mer $125 that simply bypasses this function allowing the 3.5L to perform on all cylinders under all circumstances which is how the engine should perform. Not only does it increase performance it eliminates these Costly issues. Not sure what yr CT u have or the mileage but the sooner you address this issue the happier your 3.5 will be which actually is a well performing engine that will provide many yrs of use.