Replaced Radio?? - Honda Crosstour Forums
     Honda Crosstour Forums
Auto Insurance

Go Back   Honda Crosstour Forums > Honda CrossTour Forums > In Car Tech Gear

CrossTourOwnersClub.com is the premier Honda Crosstour Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2016, 09:01 AM   #1
ScottChapman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default Replaced Radio??

I have a 2013 without NAV (but it does have the touchscreen).

I am interested in replacing the stereo in order to get Android Auto, but I am not sure how the replacement stereo would also be able to do all the car settings the current radio does.

Has any replaced the touchscreen radio??
ScottChapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2016, 02:10 PM   #2
JOsworth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 322
Default

If you go with an aftermarket head unit in place of the Honda one.. you will loose the integration.

A newer OEM head unit may work, but that would cost thousands just to get an app....

And, not even sure if a new Accord head unit would integrate with the 2013 car, even though they are related.
__________________
-------------------

Jeff

2010 Honda Crosstour EX-L AWD
2015 Nissan Altima 2.5S
1985 Dodge 600ES Turbo Convertible (41k and holding)
JOsworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 09:16 PM   #3
AmandasCT2015
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Default

I would love to hear what you find out. I have a 2015 EX-L and am pretty pouty about the lack of features in the system combined with the inability to upgrade if wanted without losing the iMid. Mine can't even get the silly Siri update, and I hate the Honda voice activation. First world problems for sure but still.
AmandasCT2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-04-2016, 08:22 PM   #4
mythirdhonda
Junior Member
 
mythirdhonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Default I want to replace my stock stereo as well

I saw reports of "losing integration" with an aftermarket system. What exactly will I lose? I'm looking at the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX w/ Android Auto and the ability to add a SiriusXM tuner (I have a 2013 EX-V6, no navi). I currently use a standalone tuner and I hate it being mounted on the dash. Crutchfield says I'll lose my AUX port and clock - is that what losing integration means? If so, no biggie for me.
__________________
------------
First Honda: 1988 Honda Civic LX (Burgundy) - my first car, traded after 3 years
Second Honda: 1992 Honda Accord EX (Black) - sold after 21 years
Third Honda: 2012 Honda Crosstour EX (Black) - traded after 20 months
Fourth Honda: 2013 Honda Crosstour EX V6 (Black) - currently own
** I created this account before purchasing my 4th Honda
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mythirdhonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 04:43 AM   #5
JOsworth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythirdhonda View Post
I saw reports of "losing integration" with an aftermarket system. What exactly will I lose? I'm looking at the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX w/ Android Auto and the ability to add a SiriusXM tuner (I have a 2013 EX-V6, no navi). I currently use a standalone tuner and I hate it being mounted on the dash. Crutchfield says I'll lose my AUX port and clock - is that what losing integration means? If so, no biggie for me.
Best way to find out... un-plug your OEM head unit and see what still works on the upper screen. I think you will find it is more than the clock, but I could be mistaken.
__________________
-------------------

Jeff

2010 Honda Crosstour EX-L AWD
2015 Nissan Altima 2.5S
1985 Dodge 600ES Turbo Convertible (41k and holding)
JOsworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 10:52 AM   #6
RedBullet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default

I chatted with someone from Crutchfield. While I think you can get the new unit to integrate into your car ok (steeringwheel controls for example) you would basically loose the upper display.

That's as far as I know... Doesn't seem like a good option...
RedBullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 12:31 AM   #7
lphovercraft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 27
Default

I have a Pumpkin Auto aftermarket head unit in my 2010 EX-L (no-nav) and I don't miss the upper display at all. (it still shows the A/C setting and a few other bits along the bottom) In fact I put my router/4G LTE modem on that ledge and have never looked back.

[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by lphovercraft; 09-02-2018 at 12:35 AM. Reason: added direct-upload photo (Google Photo sharing not working)
lphovercraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 09:21 AM   #8
gabriel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
Default

I really liked the information shared.....
gabriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:56 PM   #9
lphovercraft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 27
Default

BTW - I replaced the Pumpkin with a JOYING 10.1" unit - which I like much better (even though the screen is only 1024X600)

__________________
2010 EX-L no-nav - blue/black interior
lphovercraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 11:38 AM   #10
rogazilla
Junior Member
 
rogazilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lphovercraft View Post
BTW - I replaced the Pumpkin with a JOYING 10.1" unit - which I like much better (even though the screen is only 1024X600)

Do you lose ANC doing this?
__________________
2012 Crosstour
2007 CB900f
2008 CBR600rr
rogazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:02 PM   #11
Chachi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Default

With any newer headunit. Use a Maestro interface unit. With the additional t harness. You will gain steering wheel controls, car gauges on you head unit, retain factory usb and aux in to new head unit, AND it will send information to your factory screen allowing to not to become totally useless
Chachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 12:41 PM   #12
mddaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Has anyone found a double din dash kit for a 2013 EX-L woth no-nav? I would love to go with the Maestro, but can't find a dash adapter for replacement head unit.
mddaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.