Honda Crosstour Forums banner

Suspension design problem causing cupping?

15K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  Pinawah 
#1 ·
First, let me say that I love our Crosstour!

Second, I want you tell you about a potential problem with the front suspension geometry causing premature (and excessive) wear on the tires, specifically the front right.

I would like to hear from the other Crosstour owners here that have had a front wheel bearing replaced, or a vibration problem, or premature cupping of the tires causing a need for new tires to be purchased. We have, and have had the front right wheel bearing replaced; TWICE!

The car now has 28,000 miles on it, has never been in an accident, (no, we haven't run into a curb or anything either:).

We took it in for what felt like a front-end vibration at 17,000 miles that really sounded like a wheel bearing to me. Mind you, I was a mechanic and Service Super for 8 years, and do think I know how to diagnose this type of problem. The Honda dealership said that they could neither hear OR reproduce the sound, and that everything was fine. At this visit, we had the tires again rotated and an alignment done.

22,000 miles: took it back because the rhythmic sound was still there. I even had 2 other individuals drive it to make sure I wasn't imagining it. Dealership checked the tires, said they were fine, said the alignment was fine, and that there was no sound.

28,000 miles: took it in AGAIN because now, after a 1,800 mile road-trip, the sound REALLY became evident. Well, guess what? Now they agreed that it was a right-front wheel bearing failure and they replaced it......BACKWARDS! Yep; they had to take that bearing out and put another one in. They then checked the tires and stated on paper that they were 100% good.